MASN builds partnerships and systems across the state that improve, support, and sustain high-quality afterschool programs.  Our vision is that “All school-age children and youth in Missouri have access to high quality, sustainable afterschool programs.”

Our goals are to:

  • Foster partnerships at the local, state and national level to support afterschool professionals and programs
  • Develop public support and garner resources to advance and sustain afterschool programs
  • Ensure quality by providing professional development, technical assistance, and other supports to afterschool professionals and programs, while working on elevating the profession

Afterschool Leadership Team

The Missouri Afterschool Leadership Team is comprised of organizations and individuals concerned about the success of children and youth during non-school hours. The Afterschool Leadership Team promotes the importance of afterschool, works toward increased state funding for afterschool programs, provides professional development and resources to afterschool professionals and programs, determines and carries out the organization’s strategic plan, and leads the work of the five volunteer afterschool committees: Funding & Sustainability, Professional Development, Public Policy and Awareness, Quality, and STEM.

The Afterschool Leadership Team is the leadership organization resulting from a merger between the MOSAC2 Board of Directors (NAA Affiliate) and MASN Steering Committee (Mott Statewide Afterschool Network). The new governance guidelines provide opportunities for individual leadership, along with organizational representation by statewide and regional partners.


  • Chair – Leanne Cantu, Rockwood Adventure Club
  • Funding and Sustainability Committee – Cassie Hackett, Lees Summit
  • Professional Development Committee – Leigh Ann Clayton, MU Adventure Club
  • Public Policy & Awareness Committee – Colleen Abbott, Eldon School Districts 21CCLC program
  • Quality Committee – Lisa Driskel-Hawxby, OPEN Initiative
  • STEM Committee – Brian Crouse, Missouri Chamber of Commerce/Missouri Math & Science Coalition

Organizational Members:

  • 4-H Center for Youth Development
  • Boys & Girls Clubs
  • Charter Schools
  • Child Care Aware® of Missouri
  • DESE
  • DHSS
  • DSS
  • LINC
  • Missouri Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • MOSAC2
  • OPEN Initiative
  • United for Children
  • YMCA

Afterschool Committees

The Missouri AfterSchool Network has five standing committees that meet four times throughout the year.  Any afterschool program staff, administrator, partner, or friend of afterschool can participate in the afterschool committee meetings (Funding & Sustainability, Public Awareness, Public Policy, Quality, and STEM).

Please visit the Our Work page for detailed descriptions of the committees and the Afterschool Committee Meetings page to RSVP for the next meeting.


  • Terri Foulkes, Executive Director
  • Mark Cowsert, Associate Director of Policy and Partnerships
  • Brad Lademann, Associate Director of Quality Initiatives
  • Jason Patrie, Data and Evaluation Coordinator
  • Alicia Pierro, Data Coordinator
  • Natalie Hampton, Policy Coordinator
  • Clint Darr, Interim Missouri Afterschool Resource Center Coordinator and Afterschool Regional Educator (ARE) for Mid-Missouri
  • Kay Lewis, Afterschool Regional Educator (ARE) for Eastern Missouri
  • Lynna J. Lawson, Afterschool Regional Educator (ARE) for South Central Missouri
  • Consultant AREs include Emily Rapp (West Central Missouri), Sheryl Godsy (Western Missouri), Sandra Pratt (Southwest Missouri), Ronda Chesney (Northwest Missouri), and David and Connie Toney (Southeast Missouri).


The Missouri Afterschool Network began in 2002 with funding from the C. S. Mott Foundation and the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) to bring together partners to envision a system to support afterschool programs throughout the state. In 2005, the University of Missouri’s 4-H Center for Youth Development became the network’s fiscal agent and secured a second round of funding from the Mott Foundation to focus on developing key components of the afterschool program quality infrastructure. Additionally, MASN received a contract from DESE to provide training and technical assistance to 21st Century Community Learning Center (CCLC) and School Age Community (SAC) grantees. During this time, MASN developed the Missouri Afterschool Program Standards and contributed to the development of the Core Competencies for Youth Development Professionals. In 2008, MASN began focusing on resources and training specific to Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. In 2010, additional funding from the Noyce Foundation increased the ability of Project LIFTOFF to provide STEM specific leadership development, training, and evaluation resources for afterschool programs. In 2013, MASN took on the coordination of the 21st CCLC statewide evaluation and developed survey and data resources for the 21st CCLC programs that can be used by all afterschool programs throughout the state.


MASN has had a variety of funders since 2002, but primary funding has been provided by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and the Mott Foundation. From 2010 to 2014, MASN received significant funding from the Noyce Foundation.


MASN works closely with a variety of partners to build systems to support afterschool programs and professionals. Key statewide systems partners include the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, the Missouri Math and Science Coalition, OPEN Initiative, and Child Care Aware ® of Missouri. Visit our partner links at the bottom of our homepage!

Afterschool Works

keeps kids safe, helps working families, inspires kids to learn

Click Here To Know More